To delete, or not delete, my blog

23 Dec

I came here tonight, to this virtual land known to me as “my blog” with thoughts of deleting it. This particular thought has been swirling around inside my head for awhile. I hardly blog, per se, any more: I’ve written five posts in the last year, down from my average of about a dozen per year for the last few years, and down from my average a couple-few hundred posts per year when I started almost ten years ago.

hmmEvery year, around this time of the Winter Solstice, I feel compelled to clean out old files and resort and organize content, databases, files … it’s one of the ways that I look back at the year. And tonight I deleted 58 blog posts. Really, after close to a decade of blogging, posts such as those claiming that Facebook will become a tool for community building seem quaint.

I’ve deleted hundreds of posts over the years, whittling my total conten down to a fraction of its earlier volume, but I wasn’t quite ready tonight to delete my blog wholesale. One of the reasons I still like having my blog around is that I often reference my own writing and send people links to posts I’ve written before. I imagine some day (maybe as the winter of 2017 arrives) that I’ll no longer need or want even that. But, for now, at least, the blog remains.

Personally, I find Facebook more fulfilling, as it’s much easier for me to write there and, frankly, Facebook is gobs more engaging than my blog has ever been terms of comments and likes. I’ve had some crazy success with my blog posts in earlier years, sometimes garnering  150k+ views on one post alone … on one of my Vitamix smoothie recipes, of all things! Well …

Happy Winter Solstice! May this coming season bring you much introspection, time for reflection and opportunity to prepare for all that’s new and wonderful in the new year ahead.

4 Responses to “To delete, or not delete, my blog”

  1. Elizabeth | Take On E December 23, 2015 at 7:32 am #

    I’d love to see your content stick around on the interwebs. It’s an interesting time capsule – what a fun tidbit to share at a party – “My Vitamix smoothie has 150,000 hits!” It’s interesting that you’ve deleted content. I’ve only done that a few times, and that was only because I was interviewing for jobs and there were certain personal posts I didn’t want potential employers to see.

  2. Mark Scott December 23, 2015 at 8:26 am #

    You offer far too much value to have thoughts like this! While I agree that FB is good place to bring what you have, why not think “both and”?

  3. stevescays December 28, 2015 at 4:53 am #

    My advice, keep it and blog, I like facebook, but its so uncontrollable, so I post on my personal blogs and use ifTTT to post to FB.

    Your site is unique, there is no other Jessie X keep, and archive older blogs, I deeply regret deleting anything, I recently had to clean my tech blog, luckily I had a lot of the blogs posted to Evernote, so not all gone,

    • Jessie Newburn February 1, 2016 at 10:22 pm #

      You’re the best, Steve! Thanks! Hope all is well with you, the fam and the biz!

Leave a Reply

