How I almost sold my soul for a box of labels

3 Mar

It happened like this: I tweeted a simple request. (It seemed innocent enough at the time.) I tweeted that I needed help getting some Avery labels printed for an upcoming hocoblogs party. And that’s when the snowball rolling toward my soul being owned by The Devil started to roll.

Good thing for me, my soul isn’t for sale, so I caught that potentially Hellish problem in the nick of time. “Whoa, Devil,” said I. “No souls for sale here.”

See, when I posted my request to the Twitterverse, a smart gal managing Avery label’s brand online spotted my tweet and responded to me right away. She offered that she could give me some labels if I were to blog about why I liked Avery labels.

I asked for the dollar amount of this “gift” of labels, and she said it was about $90. I explained to her that the blog post I was interested in writing had to do with respecting that a company was monitoring its brand in the social space and that it had empowered an agent (notably, a pr firm) to act on its behalf for community relations with brand ambassadors.

She told me my blog post focus that was a little out of the norm, but that she was game.

Avery labels sent from Red Sky Public Relations.

I told her that I was delighted she was game, because I was going to blog about the experience anyway; now I get to tell a happy, yay-for-Avery-and-good-online-brand-monitoring story rather than a “they tried to get me to sell soul, and they can’t have it” story.

Even better, the gal sent me the Avery product prior to my blog post being written: a statement of trust. (Nice touch.)  And, so folks, I now have a load of Avery labels … and my soul, fully intact.

***

For companies in need of some good online brand management, props to Leigh Ann Dufurrena of Red Sky Public Relations. (You can use this link in your own personal brand management, Leigh Ann; you get a shiny gold star in my book.)

2 Responses to “How I almost sold my soul for a box of labels”

  1. Leigh Ann Dufurrena March 3, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

    Wow, thanks Jessie! I can say that I’m happy not to be the devil, or the devil’s advocate! Hope the product worked out for you, and thanks for the stellar blog post (my colleagues are high-fiving me)!

    • JessieX March 3, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

      I’m actually digging some of the items you sent that I didn’t know Avery carried. The removable file labels are so “yes! that’s exactly what I need” and the little hard tab/write-on them things are perfect. The boxed labels are great of course, but that was the kind of stuff I expected. Thanks again for reaching out, and here’s another high-five from the aether.

Leave a Reply

