Word choice.

16 Jul

I like words. I like to think about them. To use them. To find the right ones at the right times for the right moments. Sometimes I find myself a little baffled by others’ word choices. For example, I purchased two tickets to a concert via Ticketmaster. They charged me a “convenience fee” of $9.45 PER ticket, or $18.50. I don’t consider it a “convenience” when I had no other choice for how to get the ticket. I call it a “fee.” Maybe a “rip-off” would be better. But I’ll settle for “fee.”

Alas, I thought I was done with my “convenience” experience until they whopped me with a $4.95 “ordering and service fee.” Ahhhh, I thought to myself. I wonder how that differs from the “convenience fee?”

Well, I’m not in charge of Ticketmasters’ marketing and communications. Nor their corporate culture. I can only pine for, speak up about and practice myself the art of speaking accurately and from my perspective. May we each and all do the same. I, for one, would find it a bit easier to navigate the world when words and meanings are more accurately aligned.

2 Responses to “Word choice.”

  1. Robin Abello July 17, 2010 at 8:25 am #

    Love it Jessie. How convenient of them to charge you that extra ordering and service fee.

  2. DIY Investor July 18, 2010 at 7:03 pm #

    It’s a convenience in the sense that you don’t have to run down a scalper to get the tickets. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

