Achooooo!

5 Apr

For years, right around April 1st, I’d develop the most overwhelming allergies. And, if you’ve ever heard me sneeze, you’re likely not to forget. I’m one of those insanely loud sneezers. I’m thinking this comes from a dinner conversation one evening when I was in elementary school. I remember asking my mom, an R.N., why some people made little sneeze noises and other people made bigger ones. She explained that a sneeze was functional and provided the oomph for the body to rid itself of detritus and other goobery things in ze nose. Upon that explanation, I believe I gave myself full permission to do as needs done, and I sneeze very loudly. But I digress, as I often do.

Well, several years back, I had a wonderful opportunity to try acupuncture for the first time in my life. My appointment was in the winter. Come that spring, my allergies were close to nil. And since then, I go back for seasonal adjustments, especially winter into spring and summer into fall. If you’re in the hoco area, I heartily recommend Laura Mueller for acupuncture. I find her kind, attentive, gentle (even while pricking me, imagine that), wise and wonderfully capable in her art. She does a number of other things, too, and works in a bit of cranial-sacral work and other modalities as need be. All in all, not only are my appointments enjoyable, but my results have been great.

Recently, I had the opportunity to have a Bowen treatment at Bodywise Physical Therapy off of Broken Land Parkway. I blogged about it a few months back and recommend their services as well. I had a lovely treatment and know that they offer a diversity of services, too.

So, if you find yourself achooo-ing and achooo-ing, perhaps, rather than reaching for the drugs and medicines, you schedule an appointment or two for acupuncture, or some other treatment that provides balancing and adjusting at this ever-so-transitional time of the year. šŸ™‚

Rock on.

Oh, and remember: aim to sneeze into the crook of your elbow (but not your hands) when you sneeze. Da POTUS thinks it’s a good idea, too.

Leave a Reply

