Carpe photo opp

14 Dec

It was a moment I couldn’t pass up. Traipsing through DC with a few hundred Santas, we’d just left the Lincoln Memorial and were en route to the White House when I saw it: THE photo opp of the day.

See, as part of SantarchyDC, I’d done my best at interpretive Santa with a haute couture vintage piece I’d spotted at one of my fave thrift stores a couple months prior. It was an exquisitely made, hand-beaded and ever-so day-glo orange leisure suite from the late ’60s/early ’70s. And, as one admiring Santa gal said to me, “I mean this in the best way possible: Pat Nixon. You’re Pat Nixon Santa.

Well, I don’t know if I’d have come up with that title myself, but I could work with it. And the photo, well that moment was yet-another lovely gift from God.

5 Responses to “Carpe photo opp”

  1. Thursday Bram December 14, 2009 at 8:45 am #

    That is an absolutely amazing photo! Prime Christmas card material if you ask me.

    • JessieX December 14, 2009 at 10:04 am #

      Hey, Thursday. Thanks for the idea. Interestingly, I literally placed an order for Xmas cards with my printer, Corridor Printing. (My mother hand paints Xmas cards, I get them scanned and made into card sets that I use personally and give as sweet gifts.) But I might just have to explore your idea. My challenge: it was an iphone that took that photo! Well, I’ll give it a shot anyway. ~ J

  2. jen December 18, 2009 at 10:14 pm #

    that is hot!

  3. Sherri December 21, 2009 at 10:40 pm #

    I LOVE IT! I wish I could have been there to see that day-glow orange in person!

  4. rodney December 28, 2009 at 3:29 pm #

    Looking good.

Leave a Reply

