Sweet Potato and Apple Puree

13 Nov

sweet-potato-pureeIt’s been months since I’ve blogged about smoothies. I don’t think my fruit intake isn’t that high, actually. Summer, yes. Lots. Fall, apples and pears. Winter: citrus and pomegranates and cranberries (are they a fruit) in season. So, while I don’t desire nightly fruit smoothies in the fall and winter, I do like to puree things in general. (That last statement might be worthy of psychological exploration. Hmm.) Anyhoo, I love my Vitamix, and I love to find real-food recipes that I can puree to bits and create a yummy dish. (Trust someone who’s been there: it’s quite possible to take something tasty, puree it, and end up with something very not-tasty.)

Here is one of my hands-down favorite purees: Sweet potatoe and apple. I’m bringing it to the thanksgiving holiday potluck at my j-o-b tomorrow, along with another more sugary sweet potato dish.

The ingredients include —

  • sweet potatoes
  • tart apples
  • lime juice
  • honey
  • yogurt
  • melted butter

The recipe I use is here. If you feel so called, enjoy. If you have a j-o-b where I have a j-o-b, perhaps you’ll sample a bit tomorrow.

Rock on.

Pic from http://www.foodnetwork.com/

2 Responses to “Sweet Potato and Apple Puree”

  1. Bronacos November 13, 2009 at 10:00 am #

    What a wonderful flavor combo; not so big on purees myself, prefer a chunkier mash – this flavor combo would make a wonderful soup too. Shame folks only get excited about sweets at this time of the year – they great all winter long!

  2. vitaimxreviews January 16, 2010 at 4:28 am #

    Wow thanks for the great recipes! This one really looks delicious.

Leave a Reply

