Kickin’ it with Kombucha

16 Aug

kombuchaKombucha. That was my stellar, push-it-over-the-top ingredient in today’s smoothie. Kombucha is slightly fermented drink with a bit of zing. Claims are high on its health benefits of the drink. I like it. While my blueberry-mango smoothie was coming along just fine, I felt it needed “something,” so I added the kombucha. Perfect! Here’s what I pureed in my Vitamix

  • 1.5 c. frozen blueberries
  • 1.5 c. frozen mango
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • Li’l bit of water
  • 8 oz of berry-flavored kombucha

I’ve been paying a bit more attention to the acid-alkaline range of my body’s chemistry, and my understanding is kombucha helps move the body toward a more basic chemistry.

2 Responses to “Kickin’ it with Kombucha”

  1. dirty mouth mama August 16, 2009 at 11:03 pm #

    If you want Kombucha make it yourself. It is even more bad ass. You can get a culture easily.

    Tweet @chef_lucien to ask for one.

  2. jen August 26, 2009 at 8:41 pm #

    in 1999, when i started “blogging” essentially on the opendiary.com, i followed a blogger in new york who made homemade kombucha. she wrote about it all the time along with the health benefits. someone finally bottled it! probably her!

Leave a Reply

