Cherry & Tabasco Smoothie

25 Jul
Tabasco and fruit. Better tasting than it may sound!

Tabasco and fruit. Better tasting than it may sound!

I fully expected this one to be a dud. A scary dud. To my surprise, it’s fabulous. Here’s what I pureed in my Vitamix

  • 1 cup, cherries, cut, sugared with citric acid and almost forgotten after 5 days of sitting in the fridge (yikes)
  • 1 banana (bananas just scare me: they seem so non-banana-ish in the last 5-7 years … too much agribusiness and disease)
  • 1 mango, ripe to the point of almost being uh-oh
  • 1 tsp Tabasco sauce, the Louisiana kind (I knew I needed something hot, and that’s what caught my eye)
  • 1/2 lime, juiced
  • ice cubes

Amazing. The tabasco underneath it all (plus the lime) pulls these tastes and textures together in a way I wasn’t expecting. It’s rich, full, tasty. It even masks the scary agri-business banana flavor that keeps me from including bananas in most of my fruit smoothies.

I’ve used the word “scary” three times in one short blog post.

Scary.

2 Responses to “Cherry & Tabasco Smoothie”

  1. fetalposition July 25, 2009 at 7:51 pm #

    That is very interesting. Just might try that.

  2. Maria August 1, 2009 at 9:26 pm #

    This actually sounds quite yummy. I’m going to try it. Thanks, Jessie 🙂

Leave a Reply

