Cantaloupe Ginger Honey Kefir Smoothie

29 Jun

cantaloupe - by scott bauerThis one got mixed reviews. It’s much lighter in texter than my more-typical fruit-dense smoothies, plus I added flavoring well above and beyond just the fruit. Here’s what I mixed —

  • 1/2 a cantaloupe
  • 10 ice cubes
  • 1 inch of ginger, peeled and diced
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 1/2 c vanilla kefir
  • 2 T honey

Vitamix on low, variable, then high. Cantaloupe is so watery, that it makes for a really different base drink than something pulpier, such as blueberries. Knowing it was going to be really watery,  and knowing I didn’t want to add to many fruits to it, I aimed to add more flavor layers. (Oh, cantaloupe, like all melons, is best eaten away from/distanced from eating other foods. At least, that’s what I’ve heard and adhere to mostly.) The ginger and honey added flavor layers. The ginger seemed almost a bit bitter to me; the lemon, sour, of course. Kefir is a little bit sour, but balanced by the vanilla flavor.

Anyway, I liked it. My sis was so-so on it. My dad and my mom both liked it. If I made it again, I’d halve the amount of ginger I used.

One Response to “Cantaloupe Ginger Honey Kefir Smoothie”

  1. JessieX June 30, 2009 at 10:50 pm #

    The truth came out today. No one liked this cantaloupe smoothie too much. Didn’t like cantaloupe as a base fruit. Oh well. That’s part of the process of experimenting and documenting what I’m doing.

Leave a Reply

