Drinking my salad: Pureed lettuce

27 Apr

Told y’all I was experimenting with my Vitamix and recipes. I’m experimenting all right: even put my salad in the Vitamix, added some ingredients and wowsa: liquid salad. I was pleased to see the lettuce puree hold it form and not separate over a few hours. That was something new that I learned.

My most successful salad drink to date I had as an afternoon snack at my j-o-b.

  • 1/2 head of curley leafed lettuce
  • a handful of parsley
  • 1/2 lemon, peeled and seeded
  • olive oil, really good quality
  • balsamic vinegar, nice and aged
  • 1/2 cup of kombucha, gingerade
  • 3 ice cubes

This was suprisingly good. The lemon really helps the lettuce and parsley not be so rabbit-like. The oil and vinegar give the drink a bit of substance and death. And the kombucha? Well that gave it some tasty sizzle.

Some earlier experiments included too many bitter (early spring, wintering from last year) lettuces plus walnuts (bitter). That drink was, not surprisingly,pureed-lettuce bitter.

Leave a Reply

