Creamy Turnip Purée with Walnuts, Anchovies, and Parsley

26 Apr

I”m experimenting with pureed food recipes. Building my own database of foods I like. One of the recipes I made today was  Creamy Turnip Purée with Walnuts, Anchovies, and Parsley. The ingredients are below and the full recipe is here.

  • 6 pounds medium turnips, peeled, quartered
  • 3 garlic cloves, peeled
  • 1 1/2 cups (or more) whipping cream
  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) butter
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 6 anchovy fillets
  • 1 cup walnuts, coarsely chopped
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped fresh Italian parsley

turnip-puree-for-vitamixSince I’m pureeing the recipe in my Vitamix, I didn’t delineate between the turnip mash and the topping. I cooked it, according to the recipe and found it bland. So I doubled up on the anchovies, tripled the parsley and then it was tastier.

I’m not a major turnip fan on an average day, but I’m willing to be more curious about foods when using my Vitamix. Texture is a big part of the puree result, and the turnips did quite well in this regard.

The final dish was tasty, reasonable. Not glorious, but quite acceptable, if you like turnips and anchovies, that is.

Leave a Reply

