Begging you for mercy.

27 May

A song on the radio (yes, I know, I’m dating myself) made me curious. It’s , by a young singer named Duffy. The video below doubled my interest.

I’m particularly interested in generational theory now. The way I understand it, right now is a time of big cultural shift as Millennials (born 1982 – 2002ish) are edging in to young adulthood and shifting teen and young adult culture with them. Generations produce oscillating trends. That’s what makes generational trends maddening and equally valuable; generations keep each others’ strengths and weaknesses in check.

Now, as much as Millennials have been raised on a lot of cultural vulgarity and extremism dished out by their elders (Boomers and GenX), their Hero archetype orients to a conformist, clean-cut, modest, upbeat type of pop culture. So, I’m curious to see if and how this tendency will unfold for Millennials.

In the video, did you see the shoes in the opening scene? Thems are oxfords, hon. Leather-soled and with tassles. The men dancing are clean cut, even wearing white shirts or long-sleeved button-down shirt. No baseball caps on these guys. Even when the men are shown in the video, their faces are indirect and modest. Their moves are masculine, enticing but hardly that over-the-top, GenX-style bold and in your face.

Duffy’s feet stay close together in a classic feminine position, throughout the video. The neckline cut on her dress is high. Elegant. Her skirt, just above her knees. Her hair and make-up are pretty and complimentary; nothing excessively sexified and in-your-face about this young lady. She’s sexy all right, just as she is. And that’s all that’s needed.

And as much as I’m a GenXer and love my tribe, I welcome a little more decorum and modesty. Bring it on, Millennials. Bring it on in droves …

4 Responses to “Begging you for mercy.”

  1. Andre Blackman May 27, 2008 at 10:02 pm #

    Hey Jessie,

    You’d be surprised at the wide variety of what those of us called Millenials would consider decent! I think with all the assumed lack of values and morals and decency that many think we own, there are alot of those who follow your train of thought. Gen Yers I don’t think are as bent on rebellion as Gen X, at least with clothing 🙂

  2. brian May 29, 2008 at 9:28 am #

    I love this song! She sounds like an old Motown artist. I really appreciate when old becomes new again.

    Speaking of that, check out my myspace profile song. It’s a band called The Izzys, and they sound like the early 70’s Stones, a high water mark for classic rock indeed.

  3. wordbones May 29, 2008 at 3:36 pm #

    Duffy rocks!
    -wb

  4. Ian May 30, 2008 at 1:35 pm #

    Duffy rocks, alright. Great song and a great video. However, I’ll pass on doing backflips and setting myself on fire.

    As someone who’s definitely not part of the “millennial” generation, I’ve already done my part ensuring Y2K didn’t bring our infrastructure to its knees. In the next couple years, it’ll be up to the “millennials” to do the same thing with the conversion from IPv4 to IPv6.

Leave a Reply

