The Columbia Bike Guy Fan Club

10 Sep

I found a quirky, hyper-local group on Facebook; it’s called The Columbia Bike Guy Fan Club, and it has over 1,000 members. I’m one of them.

The scoop here is that people take pictures of The Columbia Bike Guy (whose name, btw, is Athar), and then they post the pics on the Facebook group’s site. One member has even made a T-shirt that he’s selling on the site; the shirts sell for $15 and $1 goes to Athar.

columbia-bike-guy.jpg

I love Facebook. Love it. This particular group — odd as it is — makes me happy. I see T.C.B.G. around town, often. One of his haunts is one of mine: the East Branch Library, back by the huge windows, magazines and group study tables. He has a bit of “loner” energy about him, and I’ve observed some really strong iterations of his Loner-ness. I find it sweet and wonderful that people locally have found a way to reach out to him and include him. To make him part of our community in a way that, somehow, seems very appropriate and kind.

columbia-bike-guy-fan-club-t-shirt.jpg

Some of the comments in Facebook include:

every time i see this guy, it brightens up my day

and

i saw him at the mall last Tuesday… he likes to sneak around but with his giant red mohawk its kinda easy to spot him

The whole phenomenon makes me smile.

8 Responses to “The Columbia Bike Guy Fan Club”

  1. Robin Abello September 10, 2007 at 7:48 pm #

    A fan club with 1000 members? This guy is popular. I’ve always wondered who this bike guy was. I see him all over Columbia every few weeks or so but my wife claims she’s never seen him. Guess I’ll have to join the fan club to find out more about him.

  2. Bryan September 25, 2007 at 3:24 pm #

    hey there! i have recently gotten to know athar well – i am the one who made the t-shirts. thanks for writing the article – he loves to read them! – bryan

    • Karen January 18, 2014 at 9:44 am #

      Is the t-shirt still available for purchase?

  3. Jessie N December 4, 2007 at 7:26 pm #

    I’m at one of my favorite work-think spaces: the East Branch Library … back in the big-table area next to the two-story windows. (Aaahh, what a treat that space is in fall and winter.) Anyhoo, Athar, the Columbia Bike Guy, is here, as he often is. Now, I know the Columbia Bike Guy Fan Club sets off alarms for some people. Personally, I like the concept. I like that he’s included in our community in this way.

  4. Kris May 16, 2008 at 6:21 pm #

    Hey Jessie,

    I’ve seen Athar around for about 6 years, since I moved here. At first I wasn’t sure what to think, but gradually I got super excited every time I saw him on his bike. I have a company wrap on my vehicle which he recognizes and always waves to me. It’s awesome!! :-)

  5. scott July 29, 2008 at 4:00 pm #

    FER CEREAL HOW DO I GET ONE

  6. Barbara August 17, 2012 at 8:00 am #

    I lived in Columbia for several years and I always saw Athar (I always thought of him as “the bike guy” because I did not know his name). I worried for a bit when I hadn’t seen him in awhile, but I was happy to see him parked in the grass on the median near 175 one day! Why is only $1 going to him though?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. columbia bike guy « grammarmaven’s blog - July 30, 2008

    [...] archive old news stories (silly, isn’t it?). but a search turned up a blog entry by jessiex¬†about his facebook fan club (”the columbia bike guy”) and t-shirt with his visage [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 836 other followers

